Artist Spotlight: Sarah Klass

Today we feature an interview with Sarah Klass, the artist behind one of our favorite jewelry designers, whose company is aptly titled “The Sarah Klass.” We are thrilled to showcase Sarah’s work and to have her ever positive and inspiring presence with us at Here Now! 

Here Now is an opportunity to share the work of these talented artists who are just beginning their careers. Help them by helping us and supporting Here Now!Thank you, again, to everyone who has already donated. 

Here Now: Sarah Klass

Sarah Klass in her studio

Q. Who are you, where are you from and what do you make?
A. I’m Sarah Klass. I’m from New York City and I make jewelry. My company is called The Sarah Klass.

Q. What work are you presenting at HERE NOW?
A. I am going to present a number of jewelry pieces. I work primarily in copper, brass and silver and use labradorite, pyrite, tigers eye, turquoise, and amethyst stones. 

Q.Why are you a part of HERE NOW? Who brought you to it?
A. I want to be a part of this project mainly because of the people involved. I know Alexa from Parsons and she’s totally badass. I met Galen and Nathan when I visited Portland and am so thrilled that they want to kick it in NYC. It’s always inspiring to bring people with new ideas and experiences into the city. They are all hugely creative and hard working. It’s that attitude that makes me so excited for HERE NOW.

Q. What does this project mean to you? Have you ever done anything like this before?
A. HERE NOW will be the debute event for The Sarah Klass. This will be a great opportunity to work with inspiring, fun, creative, and attractive artists all while potentially spreading the word about my jewelry. I can’t lose!

Q.What do you hope to gain from being involved in this project? Who are you excited to know better after this?
A. Are you kidding?! This project is so exciting for me! I am making headway with my business every day, but the opportunity for a large scale event to show people what I do, how I do it, and with people who are completely supportive is one that is truly unique. This is going to be such a fantastic chance to spread my work to a new audience as well as meet new artists and designers who will also be participating in the event. I don’t know too many of them yet, but I hope to get to know this bunch much better and maybe even collaborate in the future!

Single Tassle Earring by The Sarah Klass.

To see Sarah’s gorgeous jewelry line, click here!

Each day that we post a project update and tell you, our supporters, about the artists we are involving is incredibly exciting! The hard work and dedication, as well as creative energy, of all of those involved in Here Now is truly inspiring to all of us! Thank you. 

Leave a comment