Artist Spotlight: Melissa Schlobohm of Fledging Press

With 32 hours to go and just under 4k to raise we are feeling thankful and so excited about the future of HERE NOW! We can really see this project coming together. THANK YOU to all of our backers!

Today we feature artist Melissa Schlobohm of Fledgling Press. Melissa has been showing her prints and t-shirts at AlexaStark since fall of 2012 and we are so excited to bring her work to NYC! 

Artist Spotlight: Melissa Schlobohm/Fledgling Press

Melissa with her inspiration

Q. Who are you, where are you from and what do you make?

A. My name is Melissa Schlobohm. I grew up in Montclair, New Jersey and attended Skidmore College from 2008-2012. Initially, I was drawn to sculpture in highschool and the beginning of college but quickly fell in love with relief printmaking process after my second year at Skidmore. I really enjoy the various stages in the relief process and how they differ, from the physicality of carving a piece to mixing the ink and rolling it out. I love that the nature of the mark making is permanent, so you have to adapt and work with what you’ve done.

Q. What work are you presenting at HERE NOW?
A.
 I’ll be showing a few of my most recent prints, as well as several different hand printed t-shirts and clothing patches.

Woodblock print, 2012. Melissa Schlobohm.

Q.Why are you a part of HERE NOW? Who brought you to it?

A. I met Galen while studying at Skidmore. I was more than happy to contribute and be a part of her collective. I think it is very important to support your fellow artist friends because they will always be your support system and motivation.

Q. What does this project mean to you?

A. To me Here Now is about working together to create an opportunity beneficial for many of us young artists to show and sell our works outside of our immediate community. It is inspiring to feel that you are a part of a bigger community of people who love to make art as much as you do, especially when you aren’t surrounded by many artists. It is truly amazing to show work alongside many other talented artists with a diverse range of mediums.

To see more of Melissa’s prints, check our Fledgling Press on Facebook!

Leave a comment